Skip to content

Sweet Kicks

May 15, 2010
So I recently picked up a pair of the new fad shoe, Vibram Five Fingers. They definitely lived up to the hype. From the minute I slipped my toes inside, I knew I had found my new favorite toy. They are just as comfortable as slippers, without the limiting factor of functionality.
The color I got is ridiculously flashy…I call them “Avatar” feet. I walked around the inner harbor with these bad boys on and had a bunch of different people ask me about them. Everyone just seemed curious, and surprisingly not one person made any comment about the shoes being silly or anything.
I’ve copied the website’s tagline intro here for a detailed description:

So I recently picked up a pair of the new fad shoe, Vibram Five Fingers. They definitely lived up to the hype. From the minute I slipped my toes inside, I knew I had found my new favorite toy. They are just as comfortable as slippers, without the limiting factor of functionality.
The color I got is ridiculously flashy…I call them “Avatar” feet. I walked around the inner harbor with these bad boys on and had a bunch of different people ask me about them. Everyone just seemed curious, and surprisingly not one person made any comment about the shoes being silly or anything.
I’ve copied the website’s tagline intro here for a detailed description:

The typical human foot is an anatomical marvel of evolution with 26 bones, 33 joints, 20 muscles, and hundreds of sensory receptors, tendons and ligaments. Like the rest of the body, to keep our feet healthy, they need to be stimulated and exercised.

That’s why we recommend wearing FiveFingers for exercise, play, and for fun. Stimulating the muscles in your feet and lower legs will not only make you stronger and healthier, it improves your balance, agility and proprioception.

Benefits:

Walk more anatomically correct

  • Most sneakers tend to encourage heal-to-toe walking/running. These shoes encourage better posture and strengthen your feet.
  • For my martial arts (Jiu Jitsu, boxing, JKD), we are barefoot most of the time. I always look forward to getting to the gym and taking off my shoes to roll around…wearing these shoes all the time will help me develop more foot/ankle strength.

Comfort

  • The fabric on the upper part of your foot keeps it cool and dry (no more blisters due to wet socks mid-run). This thin fabric runs in between your toes, so you can feel your toes touching each other (for a barefoot feel).
  • The sole is designed to simulate barefoot walking/running, so small rocks/glass/sticks on the road go unnoticed.

Style

  • At first, I assumed that I would look ridiculous wearing these things around. But the truth is…I kind of like the attention they bring. It’s a fun lead-in to a conversation with anybody.
  • There are definitely circumstances where I might get annoyed with giving the same speech though.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

